My New Book — About Beads!

Yesterday I stopped I stopped at Borders on my way home. The book I was going to buy is also the personal incentive to complete a story I started for NaNoWriMo 2006, so I waffled about getting it then (I’d wait to read it, obviously). I decided not to in the end, and wandered over to the craft section to see if they had a good books on beading (actually I wandered and wandered — they’d moved it!).

In the end, I found The Beading Answer Book by Karen Morris. It’s a collection of all the mundane questions that glossier and more expensive books forget to answer. There are the requisite questions about bead weaving stitches and ‘what sort of [insert tool] do I need?’, but also questions like “How to I tell if bead holes are low quality?”(p.72). I get the impression that Ms. Morris teaches beading classes, and these are the questions her students have asked. The explanations are clear and easy to follow. Some of the answers are accompanied by black and white line diagrams. At the back of the book is a glossary and several lists of resources.

For someone who is mostly self taught, questions like these come up all the time, with very little  in most books or magazines about how to address this. I keep meaning to take a beading class, and but can’t find the time. I’ve found in my many years of trying to teach myself things that taking a class is much easier and much less frustrating than ‘living and learning’ and wasting materials. Barring that, The Beading Answer Book is helpful. The book is priced at about $15.oo  (slightly less on Amazon) and I’d say it’s worth it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a comment!

