Chicory and Hardanger

For Christmas, I decided to make my mom a linen centerpiece with cross-stitch. Due to my crazy (let me embolden that: crazy) schedule, I didn’t finish it for Christmas. I told her that I wouldn’t, and she accepted the promise of a finished centerpiece in the future.

This is what I’m putting on the long sides:

Chicory flower with unfinished Hardanger

Chicory flower with unfinished Hardanger

The pink thread marks the center line of the long side. You can see the circle left by the embroidery hoop. Since I’m using 28 ct. linen (DMC), the stitches are tiny. It gets rather tedious, but I’ve decided I’m not starting anything else until I finish this.

Double chicory flower and unfinished hardanger on corner

Double chicory flower and unfinished hardanger on corner

This is the design going on the corners. It’s the same colors as the better picture above. This picture is blurry as I had to do some work on it in Photoshop, but it gives the idea.

The geometric designs below the cross-stitch flowers are the unfinished Hardanger embroidery. While it’s very simple, it’s also nerve-wracking. if the wrong thread is cut, or the kloster blocks (the term for the embroidery seen above) are not done properly you have to start over. I can’t decide whether I should do the cuts as i finish them or not… probably while I go so I don’t have to start over completely if I do something wrong. I do know that I need to take out some of the kloster blocks from the long side as they are done wrong.

Once I make the cuts, I’ll weave/gather/bind the remaining threads into a secure design.

I’ll keep you posted!

Wikipedia’s explanation of Hardanger.

Check this page from needlework-tips-and-techniques.com for information about Hardanger and how to do it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Projects - Embroidery, To Do List

Leave a comment!

