Things I’m (Not Supposed to be) Doing

Nanowrimo Camp Lantern Participant Badge

 

This is another post about procrastination. I do a lot of it.

April is Camp Nanowrimo! It used to be Script Frenzy, but since that’s no longer a thing, scripts have become a part of Camp. You can also set your own goal, which is new this year. I set mine to 30,000 words, 1000 words a day.  So that’s what I’m supposed to be doing.

Instead I’m:

  1. Wandering around the craft store (Ooh, I must have use for that, and that and that… I call the abundance of new ideas ‘crafter’s brain’)
  2. Reading about vintage sewing methods, modern sewing methods and drafting patterns
  3. Researching at handcraft marketplaces besides Etsy ( I may or may not decide to sell my crafts)
  4. Searching Pinterest for craft fails
  5. Cleaning my room (You saw that right)
  6. Listening to podcasts (Drawing while listening to podcasts is super helpful, not so much writing)
  7. Writing this post (okay, I should’ve written this a couple days ago, but…)
  8. Eating Easter candy (sugar, whoooo!)
  9. Eating leftover meatloaf (My grandmother’s recipe)
  10. Checking twitter and browsing links found there (All those tabs slowed my browser down…)
  11. Checking my email repeatedly
  12. Checking news links
  13. Some years ago, I procrastinated during Nanowrimo by watching Hannah Montana videos. (I am nowhere near the demographic that would make that okay. And unlike My Little Pony, I am indifferent to Miley Cyrus.)

So the cure for this procrastination is: Butt in the Chair and Writing (I didn’t come up with that phrase, but it’s super helpful). That is the only thing that is a real, lasting solution, to anything whether it is novel writing, graphic novel drawing or a job search.  I could ask why I can sit down and commit and go writing off on that tangent, but that just invites more procrastination. And 1000 words is not that much.

On the Nanowrimo boards one year, someone (I can’t remember who, sorry) mentioned that to enforce the butt in the chair thing, they actually took a scarf and tied themselves down. Some people use rewards, like chocolate, or new books, but those just distract me. I might try the scarf idea.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Projects - Writing, To Do List

One response to “Things I’m (Not Supposed to be) Doing

  1. It’s ok. I procrastinate when I write and I don’t even HAVE a deadline. 😛

Leave a comment!

